Clarisonic Mia: A Follow-Up and Rant

So an invisible friend asked about the Clarisonic skin cleansing system and it reminded me that I haven’t given an update on it in a while.

I like it. I admit I was ready to chuck it out the window because of how irritated my skin was getting after only a week. I broke out in bumps which I think was a mild case of folliculitis (inflamed hair follicles) and NOT pimples.

I’ll be frank: I think the salespeople at some of these cosmetics shops are either full of it or don’t know what they’re talking about when it comes to the Clarisonic Mia; the term “breaking out” does not mean what they think it means. “Breaking out” refers to actual pimples, either the pustule or papule kind, not mere bumps on one’s skin.

It is NOT normal for one’s skin to do a 180 (e.g. going from freakishly oily to so painfully dry that I needed to buy extra-moisturizing creams that I’d ordinarily never buy because my skin is, you know, freakishly oily) and it is NOT normal for one to “break out” after using this product. It makes no sense to me that I suddenly “broke out” all over my face when I don’t normally get zits on my cheeks.

If I sound annoyed, it’s because I am annoyed. I hate that customers are being misled by sales staff.

I walked into Sephora a few weeks ago to buy replacement heads for my Clarisonic. The salesgirl was very enthusiastic and complimented me on my complexion, but only after she saw what I was buying. I mentioned the bumps I’d gotten and she was all, “Yeah, breakouts are perfectly normal!” I tried to explain that I hadn’t broken out, that my skin was actually really irritated until I changed to a gentler brush head, but I guess the KoolAid she’d had was pretty strong. I really wish companies trained their sales associates better on proper terminology and product knowledge.

Despite my angst, at the end of the day, I do like my Mia a lot. I use it at night with my facial cleanser to take off my makeup after I remove my eye makeup. Before I rinse my face, I gently massage the cleanser over my eyes to remove any lingering bits of liner or shadow, and then splash my face clean. Afterward, I either use glycolic toner and oil free moisturizer or just the ROC Retinol Correxion night cream I talked about a couple of months ago.

For you dry-skinned girls, I obviously can’t speak to your complexion plight, but if it helps, my cousin, who has skin so dry she slaps on alAquaphor or Vaseline as her winter moisturizer, also uses the Clarisonic Mia with Philosophy’s cleansing oil and adores it. Her skin really looks amazing!

2 thoughts on “Clarisonic Mia: A Follow-Up and Rant

  1. Whatever the hell I had on my chest took a looooong time to heal. I’ve been afraid to use the thing since.

Leave a Reply

