Clarisonic Mia: A Three Week Progress Report

Just to refresh your memory, this set, which I purchased from Sephora, includes the Mia handset, a brush head for sensitive skin, and the pLink charger.  It also includes a 1-ounce sample of Clarisonic’s Gentle Hydro Cleanser.  I chose not to use the cleanser because I really like my usual cleanser and didn’t want to introduce too many new products to my skin at once.

Instead, I’ve been using all of my regular skincare products:  Eucerin Gentle Hydrating Cleanser, DDF 10% Glycolic Toning Complex, DDF Ultra-Lite Oil-Free Moisturizing Dew, and Roc Retinol Correxion  Deep Wrinkle Night Cream.

I’m not gonna lie, the DDF toner and Roc cream sting after using the Mia on my face.  Not to worry, I don’t use both products at once.

As for makeup, I’ve been using a new BB cream (blemish balm cream that combines moisturizer, foundation, brightening and anti-aging agents in one product–more on BB creams in another post),  eye lid primer, eyebrow wax and powder, LUS Feminine Blush, and a tinted lip balm.

During the first week of use, my face developed little bumps all over it.  In the second week, my skin has broken out in small zits, but I can’t tell if it’s because of Mia or the BB cream.  Either way, it’s not a normal breakout for me; I very very rarely get pimples on my forehead and cheeks unless it’s product-related or because of stress.

I’ve also noticed that my face, which is normally extraordinarily oily and requires three or four blotting sheets to remove, is now dry and even a bit flaky, especially on my cheeks.  Isn’t the Mia meant to get rid of the flakies??  My beloved DDF Ultra-Lite Oil-Free Moisturizing Dew is no longer enough to keep my skin nice and moist unless I really slather it on.  I wound up buying a new, more emollient moisturizer that costs an arm and a leg.  Not cool and a little worrisome that my complexion has changed so abruptly from super oily to super dry.

I read that in the first couple of weeks, you should expect your skin to break out as it “purges” itself of impurities.  Well, as I said above, I don’t break out on my cheeks and forehead, and I think if any purging is going to happen, it ought to be happening in the areas where I am much more prone to breaking out.   Still, I am willing to accept the purging theory, and for the moment, I’m going to blame the skin crazy on my new BB cream and PMS.  Sorry for the over-share. :/

One positive result I’ve seen is the reduction in the blackheads on my nose and whiteheads on my chin.  There are two very stubborn blackheads that are defying every attempt at removal, even with an extraction tool, but all the others are gone.   It’s a little embarrassing to catch myself staring at my nose so often but it’s such a novelty to have a mostly blackhead-free nose!

So far, I am not impressed with the Clarisonic Mia overall.  I’m one to give things lots of chances, though, and I’m willing to continue using it for a few more weeks.

Leave a Reply

