Physician’s Formula Shimmer Strips Custom Eye Enhancing Gel CreamLiner for Brown Eyes

I’ve always been a little wary about wearing eyeliner, especially the gel/liquid kind. I’ve seen way too many women (and some men) wander about town with some very heavily lined eyes. I don’t think it’s very attractive. But then I think, “Well what the hell do I know? I don’t wear it so maybe this is the newest trend and I’m just an old fuddy-duddy!”

Honestly, though, I think there’s got to be a happy medium here. Eyeliner need not be thick enough to be seen from space, nor does it need to be so subtle that you might as well not wear any at all.

One of the issues I have with eye makeup in general is its tendency to smudge and smear all over my cheeks. Even the kind that claims not to do those things are let-downs. I think a lot of my problem is that my skin is super oily. That oil creeps its way to my lash line and breaks down whatever stuff is holding my eye makeup onto my face. I’m assuming this greasiness in addition to my naturally high body temperature is what melts my eyeliner off. No scientific research to back this up, just a supposition on my part.

Enter Physician’s Formula Shimmer Strips Custom Eye Enhancing Gel Cream Liner for Brown Eyes. It’s a trio of gel cream eye liners that are meant to accentuate and flatter us brown-eyed gals and includes black, dark brown, and purple gels in a clever interlocking set that remind me of Legos. So cute! I’ve been really digging purple lately and this collection appeared in my periphery just in time.

I also bought the Physician’s Formula Shimmer Strips Custom Eye Enhancing Gel Cream Liner Glam Collection for Brown Eyes, which includes pots of gel creams in gold, bronze, and metallic black, though I don’t think there’s any difference between this pot of black and the one that came with the first trio.

Both sets come with a rounded eyeliner brush that I didn’t love; it was just a little too floppy and I felt like I couldn’t control it very well, though that could very well be because of my lack of skills.

I must have been a Lakers fan in a past life because I’m in love with the purple/gold combo, and they are the colors I use the most often, though I really adore all the colors. This gel cream liner glides onto the lash line with no dragging, dries quickly (which means you need to move fast if you want to smudge it a little to avoid a harsh line) and with an eyelid primer (which I’ll talk about in another post), it stays on for HOURS, yet comes off easily with a little baby shampoo (a hint I got from one of my invisible forum friends–what would I do without them?). The Glam collection is quite shimmery but as I wear glasses, I want to brighten up my eyes a bit more so they don’t get lost behind the frames, and brighter colors help with this.

The brown is not much different from black

I have to caution you on one thing: the brush bristles will dry very stiffly if you leave any product on it, and it will hurt the next time you use the brush, so it’s important to rinse and wipe it off after each use of this cream liner. I think it’s a good habit to get into anyway, and it’s not a big deal to me, but it might be to you.

Overall, I adore this product, its ease of use and the gorgeous colors!

Leave a Reply

