30 Day Clarisonic Mia Challenge: Day 1

I’ve been hearing a lot about Clarisonic facial cleansing systems lately, though I know it’s been on the market for years. I’m a little skeptical about its effect on skin. After all, the brush head doesn’t actually move; in fact, you’re the one who moves the bristles around, so what does it actually do that’s more effective than using a regular face brush or normal cleansing? On the other hand, Clarisonic facial cleansing systems received a bazillion glowing reviews, so clearly people see enough of an improvement in their complexions to rave about it.

I figured I’d give it a try and buy one for myself for Christmas. So I walked into Sephora a few days ago, looked over their Clarisonic selection and chose the Mia in Berry. For $119, I want a miraculous transformation in my complexion, though I am trying to keep my expectations low. From the Clarisonic website:

Sonic cleansing better prepares your skin for skin care products. Compared to manual cleansing, using the Clarisonic Skin Cleansing System allows for up to 61% better absorption of Vitamin C. Better absorption allows creams, serums and moisturizers to work their best.

Based on the above, the Mia in addition to proper skin care will result in nicer skin. I guess that means my DDF skincare products will work more efficiently? I hope so.

Some of the reviews of the Mia were not so promising, even from those who love their Clarisonic skin cleansing doodads. The most common point made by both the lovers and haters was that many people broke out in the first couple of weeks of use, which is not exactly a selling point for me. Those who love the Mia and defended this weird phenomenon claim it’s because the Mia is bringing up all the impurities and zits to the surface and you just have to ride it out. All right, I’m willing to do that.

In the box is the handheld unit, which is waterproof, the AC plug, and a sample tube of their Gentle Hydro cleanser. The pLink charger is kind of cool: it works magnetically, right through the base of the handle. Unfortunately, it takes 18 hours to charge fully, and at most, you get maybe 20 minutes out of it before it needs to be charged again; you can’t use the device while it’s charging. I don’t like that at all. How many people let a solid 18 hours lapse between facial cleansings?

My 30 Day Mia Challenge

Now, I’ve only had my Mia for a couple of days, so I can’t speak to its efficacy. But maybe you’d like to tap into your voyeuristic side? I propose a 30 day challenge of sorts where I’ll use the Mia on the back of my hand once a day and photograph it close up. I’ll post a picture every day so you can see for yourself whether there’s any improvement in skin tone and overall appearance. Why not my face? you ask? Frankly, I hate photos of myself, though I’ll pose for pictures with my family and friends. It’s also just easier for me to take photos of my hand.

So here it is, my 38 year-old, pre-Mia hand:

Clarisonic Mia--Day 1

Wow, I had no idea that that’s what the back of my hand looks like up close. And that’s AFTER I put on Aquaphor. I’m actually really embarrassed by all the lines and creases! 😦

Because I’m testing this on the back of my left hand, it’s not going to be an apples-to-apples comparison the way it would be if I used the Clarisonic Mia on only half my face. This is just for my own amusement and curiosity. Maybe I’ll do my face for another challenge…

So…my parameters:

I am only using it on my left hand (you’ll know it’s the same hand because I have a thin scar on it) so I can compare it to my poor untreated right hand. I am using the brush head for sensitive skin that came with my Mia.

One of the things that will severely skew this test is my frequent hand washing during the day. Depending on where I am, I slather on copious amounts of Aquaphor, L’Occitane Shea Butter hand cream, or Trader Joe’s Lavender Body Oil right after washing my hands. The only thing I can do consistently is to use the same moisturizer on my hand that I use on my face, which is either a combination of DDF Glycolic Toning Complex and DDF Ultra Lite Oil Free Moisturizing Dew, or just Roc Retinol Correxion Deep Wrinkle Night Cream by itself because at night, the product has time to do its thing without being washed off.

I think those are all the rules. I hope to see a big positive difference in 30 days!

Leave a Reply

