My Skincare Routine

Imported from www.littlelotusblossom.wordpress.com

I know this post is unexpected.  After all, I’ve been writing about nothing but food since this page’s inception.  What can I say?  I’m a woman with many interests!

Seriously though, aside from being a fan of food, I’m a beauty product junkie.  I love trying out new things, and rather than create a separate site that I’d then have to maintain in addition to this one, I’m combining my love of food and beauty to make one blog.  So every now and then, I’ll be writing about some new beauty product or regimen I’m trying out.  Maybe someday I’ll start a separate page for beauty stuff, but not today.

Here are my stats:

I have classic Asian features (black hair, dark brown eyes with no crease in the lids), my complexion is oily in the winter, super-greasy in the summer, and I’m prone to blackheads and pimples, especially on my chin and nose.  I have light to medium skin that tans very easily, and aside from a slight furrow between my brows, almost no fine lines or wrinkles (I come from a wrinkle-resistant family).

My hair is black with some streaks of silver at the temples (gotta get that colored soon) and it’s a mix of textures ranging from very fine to coarse.  Despite having some coarseness, it’s very silky and is somewhat hostile to curls; I pretty much have to shellac it if I want any curls.

My usual morning skincare routine:

  1. Cleanse with Eucerin Gentle Hydrating Wash
  2. Tone with DDF 10% Glycolic Toning Complex
  3. Moisturize with DDF Ultra-Lite Oil-Free Moisturizing Dew
  4. Sunscreen: Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock SPF 100+ (I’m not consistent with sunscreen application–gotta work on that!)

At night:

  1. Cleanse with Eucerin Gentle Hydrating Wash
  2. Tone with DDF 10% Glycolic Toning Complex
  3. Moisturize with DDF Ultra-Lite Oil-Free Moisturizing Dew

Alternatively, I may moisturize with ROC Retinol Correxion Night Cream if my skin is feeling drier than usual.  If this is the case, then I skip the toner.

I can’t tell you how much I adore DDF products, especially the Moisturizing Dew.  I’ve spent decades searching for a moisturizer that’s light, absorbs quickly, is oil-free, and doesn’t cause pimples or leave my skin feeling greasy.  It’s as expensive as all get-out though, and I’m not fond of the excessive packaging, but their products are hard for me to beat.  LOVE!  I’ll get more in-depth about it soon!

Leave a Reply

